Murphy Osborne Award Finalists Announced: Lees-McRae's Bryan Thompson Honored

HIGH POINT, N.C. -- Eleven Conference Carolinas student-athletes have been selected as finalists for the Murphy Osborne Award. This award is given to the conference athlete determined to have the most outstanding academic achievements.

The finalists for the highest academic award presented by the conference are as follows: Lahnden Onger of Anderson University, Sarah Fleming of Barton College, William McKenzie of Belmont Abbey College, Shelly Catlett of Coker College, Kyle Bennett of Erskine College, Bryan Thompson of Lees-McRae College, Christina Woolgar of Limestone College, Katherine Cahoon of Mount Olive College, Suzie Hinman of Pfeiffer University, Mary-Ashley Davino of Queens University of Charlotte, and Alyson Trovato of St. Andrews Presbyterian College.

To be eligible for the award, a student must be a senior student-athlete with a minimum grade point average of 3.25. The student must be a full-time student at the time of nomination, must have been a full-time student for at least two years at the member school, and must be a starter or important substitute in a conference sport. The recipient is selected by the conference Faculty Athletic Representatives. The Murphy Osborne award winner, selected from these finalists, will be announced next Thursday March 12th, 2009.

2009 Conference Carolinas Murphy Osborne Finalist

Lahnden Onger, Anderson University
Sarah Fleming, Barton College
William McKenzie, Belmont Abbey College
Shelly Catlett, Coker College
Kyle Bennett, Erskine College
Bryan Thompson, Lees-McRae College
Christina Woolgar, Limestone College
Katherine Cahoon, Mount Olive College
Suzie Hinman, Pfeiffer University
Mary-Ashley Davino, Queens University of Charlotte
Alyson Trovato, St. Andrews Presbyterian College