Lees-McRae places 162 student-athletes on Spring Presidential Honor Roll

Lees-McRae places 162 student-athletes on Spring Presidential Honor Roll

HIGH POINT, N.C. --- Lees-McRae College has placed 162 student-athletes on the 2012 Conference Carolinas Spring Presidential Honor Roll, announced Director of Athletics Craig McPhail Monday.

“This is a testament to our CATS (Challenging Athletes to Success) Program, the diligent work of a great support staff and ultimately the hard-work, dedication and time management skills of our student-athletes,” said McPhail.

Lees-McRae College and Conference Carolinas continue to emphasize “Academics and Athletics Working Together” as each school strives to grow their Presidential Honor Roll each and every year.  The new Presidential Honor Roll recognizes student-athletes who have earned a 3.20 grade-point average (up from 3.00 in previous years) on a 4.00 scale for the semester and includes freshman and transfer student athletes (that have participated in either a conference or non-conference sponsored sport).

King College led the way in the conference with 190 student-athletes on the honor roll, followed by Lees-McRae (162), Queens University of Charlotte (154), Pfeiffer University (147) and North Greenville University (145).

The cycling team paced the Bobcats with 33 student-athletes earning a semester GPA of 3.20 or better, as the women’s soccer team featured 19 students on the honor roll. Women’s track and field followed with 17 students on the honor roll, as seven of the Bobcats’ athletic programs reached double digits.

“We had a great spring with our teams and their grade point average, so we are glad to see the time and efforts paying off for our young people,” said McPhail.

Overall, Lees-McRae boasted 10 teams with a spring GPA above 3.0, including nine programs which posted a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher during the 2011-2012 academic year. As a department, the Bobcats combined for a spring GPA of 3.01, while posting a superb 2.98 cumulative grade point average overall during this past academic year.

Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athletic conference currently made up of 12 teams from North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Coker College, Converse College, Erskine College, King College, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, Mount Olive College, North Greenville University, Pfeiffer University, and Queens University of Charlotte.

The following Lees-McRae student-athletes were named to the Spring Presidential Honor Roll (listed by sport): 

Men’s Basketball
BJ Battle
DJ Brown
Robert Hawthorne
Asad Lamot
Will Lopez
Juan Urbina
Daniel Sepokas

Men’s Cross Country
Luke Anton
Tyler Dunn
Sondre Thorbergsen

Men’s Cycling
Davis Bentley
Kevin Burgess
Sam Cookson
Zachary Cummings
Jason Els
Chris Esposito
Zac Felpel
Dan Jardin
Dylan Knutson
Nathan Larson
Joseph Liston
Carter Luck
Ezra Mullen
Michael Nichols
Spencer Oswald
Bradford Perley
Wesley Rhoads
Peter Sauls
Ignacio Silva
William Smith
Sondre Thorbergsen
Joseph Welsh
Kerry Werner
Connor Westling
Matthew Zimmer

Men’s Lacrosse
Chris Hicks
Daniel Ives
Dalton Lamb
Justin McLaughlin
Sean O’Neill
Joseph Salvino
Joshua Shingleton
Ryan Sparks
Shaun Strodel
Brett Yusiewicz

Men’s Soccer
Scott Alford
Ronald Cox
Chris Desanto
Tyler Gibson
Ryan Gillespie
Jeff Hochuli
David Palmer
Andrew Shoemaker
James Smith
Luke Staats
Thomas Stephens

Men’s Tennis
Hang Lak Choi
Alexander Hayes
Pedro Nunes
Marcelo Tatai

Men’s Track and Field
Luke Anton
Kevin Dever
Tyler Dunn
Bradley King
Devan Mackey
Ryan Trask
Jordan Wilbur

Men’s Volleyball
Josh Cothron
Matt Harpenau
Joshua Jones
Dylan Kembre
John Lucas
Kevin Morrison
Efrain Negron
Edmund Walkley
Women’s Basketball
Natalija Cakarevic
Amber Coleman
Juliane Faltus
Candace Flowers
Kasey Haynes
Icey Patterson
Megan Tate
DeAnna Waters
Paige Whitaker
Sophie Witte

Women’s Cross Country
Lindsey Bush
Casey Clark
Crystal Fischer
Cinthia Lehner
Heather Peterman
Emily Shields
Katherine Shields

Women’s Cycling
Inee Ader
Mackenzie Filippi
Jennifer Greenberg
Jerika Hutchinson
Cinthia Lehner
Emily Shields
Katherine Shields
Rachel Warner
Women’s Lacrosse
Amy Beard
Brittany Bradley
Anna DeLuke
Nicole Dupont
Olivia Gudewich
Emily Guenthner
Jessica MacConnell
Nicole Nixon
Tiffany Rodman
Katelin Rooney
Alexandra Smith
Alison Armstrong
Kim Coley
Hollie Crickenberger
Lori Fulmer
Laurel Gregg
Lindsey Huntsinger
Karli Robb
Brooke Sheridan
Jessica Smith
Women’s Soccer
Samantha Arendt
Mary Biehner
Mary Bowers
Kaitlyn Briggs
Jessica Cardenas
Cynthia Cervantes
Mary Dorn
Lauren Griffin
Emily Jones
Jessica O’Leary
Alicia Pierson
Victoria Rich
Brooke Santerre
Ariana Smith
MaryBeth Sullivan
Meagan Thornton
Allyson Titsworth
Alex Trujic
Monica Young

Women’s Tennis
Lyndsay Pegram
Samantha Wohlers

Women’s Track & Field
Lindsey Bush
Casey Clark
Rachelle Cleveland
Jamara Cook
Crystal Fischer
Hannah Henderson
Jessica McEnaney
Genay Miller
Taryn Moorhead
April Morgan
Dana Oliver
Karina Ortiz
Heather Peterman
Iesha Poindexter
Emily Shields
Katherine Shields
Meagan Thornton

Women’s Volleyball
Taylor Clendenin
Molly Corhn
Megan Epperson
Lauren Fox
Rachel Grether
Megan Mitchell
Dana Oliver
Jessica Singewald