Bobcats Have Strong Showing at Lees-McRae Races

BANNER ELK, N.C. - The Lees-McRae College men and women's cycling team won the team time trial and had riders scattered at the top in each race at the Lees-McRae College Races over the weekend.

The Bobcats had one team win the team time trials and also finished fifth and seventh.

In the men's A road race Brad Perley, Scott Jackson, Joseph Welsh and Sondre Thorbergsen finished second, third, fourth and fifth respectively. John Doyle, Sam Kesler and Nic Dale finished seven, eight and nine respectively rounding out the Bobcats in the top ten.

In the men's B road race Nate Trimble and Carla Swart finished seven and third with Jake Lewis finishing fifth.

Kira Shoemaker won the women's A race. Kristi Henne and Adormarie Martinez finished seventh and eighth.

In the men's A time trial Jackson, Kesler, Thorbergsen, Welsh, Doyle and Eric Thompson finished third through eight respectively.

Trimble won the men's B time trial with Michael Rozelle finishing second.

Carla Swart won the women's A time trial and Kira Shoemaker took third place.