Swart Named to South African Commonwealth Games Cycling Team

BANNER ELK, N.C. -- Former Lees-McRae College standout cyclist, Carla Swart, will compete for South Africa in 2010 Commonwealth Games in New Delhi, India on October 3rd through 14th.

Swart joins 13 other cyclist and 16 other teams to represent South Africa in the 19th Commonwealth Games. The South African Commonwealth Games' teams were formed with the 2012 Olympics, which will be hosted in London, according the the South African Olympic governing body, the SASCOC.

While riding for the Bobcats, Swart was the first collegiate cyclist in the history of USA Collegiate Cycling to win the individual national championships in all four cycling disciplines, track, mountain bike, cyclocross and road, in the same season. She accomplished this feat during the 2008-2009 academic year.

SASCOC Press Release