Hulse wins 4X national championship

TRUCKEE, Calif. --- Ben Hulse (Mooresville, N.C.) captured the Lees-McRae College cycling team's third individual national championship of the season Saturday, placing first in the Men's Division I 4X competition at the USA Cycling 2010 Collegiate Mountain Bike National.

Hulse won the program's second individual title of the weekend, joining Erica Zaveta (Erwinna, Pa.), who won the women's Division I cross country race on Friday. PJ Noto (Marlboro, N.Y.) finished seventh in the 4X, while Eric Bercume (Barre, Mass.) placed 29th.

Zaveta followed her tremendous Friday performance with a second-place finish in the women's short track competition on Saturday, leaving her in fantastic position in the individual omnium standings. Kira Shoemaker (Aiken, S.C.) and Cinthia Lehner (Greer, S.C.) finished 16th and 24th, respectively, to join Zaveta as the LMC women turned in a solid showing in the short track competition.

Hannah Trimble (Spring, Texas) finished ninth in the women's Division I 4X race, while Zaveta turned in a solid 19th-place finish for the Bobcats. Bradford Perley (Kennebunkport, Maine) placed third in the men's Division I short track race after finishing fourth in the cross country race on Saturday to shore up his position in the individual omnium standings.

Fellow LMC riders Eric Thompson (Shoreview, Minn.) and Brian Sheedy (Banner Elk, N.C.) finished 10th and 11th, respectively, as the Bobcats strengthened their position in the team omnium standings. Kerry Werner (Birdsboro, Pa.) and Ezra Mullen (Nottingham, N.H.) finished 41st and 47th, respectively, to round out the Bobcat riders in Saturday's short track competition.

Lees-McRae returns to the course on Sunday, as the Bobcats look to close out the weekend's competition in championship fashion on the final day of the USA Cycling 2010 Collegiate Mountain Bike National.

- LMC -