Warner, Larson lead Bobcats at Clemson’s Collegiate Road Weekend

Warner, Larson lead Bobcats at Clemson’s Collegiate Road Weekend

CLEMSON, S.C. --- The Lees-McRae cycling team posted seven first-place finishes to round out an impressive showing at Clemson University's Collegiate Road Weekend, including a trio of individual wins for Rachel Warner (Luray, Va.).

In group "A" of the men's team time trial on Saturday, the team of Brian Sheedy (Rockford, Mich.), Bradford Perley (Kennebunkport, Maine), Peter Haile (Fort Collins, Colo.), and Zac Felpel (Willow St., Pa.) finished second, while the foursome of Rodrigo Gomez (Cancun, Mexico), Sondre Thorbergsen (Tranoy, Norway), Nate Weston, and Nathan Larson (Erie, Pa.) placed third. The team of Jordan Gillespie (Fries, Va.), Jason Marshall (Stanley, N.C.), Ezra Mullen (Nottingham, N.H.), and Trevor MacLean (Westport, Conn.) finished first in the men's group "B" time trial, while the foursome of Lucas Harville (Virginia Beach, Va.), Spencer Oswald (Dubuque, Iowa), Thomas Goetz (Corning, N.Y.), and Michael Rozelle (Norfolk, Va.) placed second.

Warner posted her first win of the weekend in the women's individual time trial, as Felpel and Gomez finished the men's "A" road race in first and second, respectively. Perley, Haile, and Sheedy also claimed the fourth, fifth, and sixth spots, respectively. In the men's "B" race, MacLean and Marshall placed first and second, while Mullen and Gillespie snagged the fifth and seventh spots, respectively. Warner notched her second win of the day and the weekend in the women's "A" road race.

Larson equaled Warner's win total in Sunday's mens' "A" criterium while Felpel finished fourth. MacLean then placed second in the men's "B" criterium, before Warner rounded out the weekend with her third win, this one in the women's "A" criterium.

Lees-McRae returns to action on Apr. 2, traveling to Mars Hill, N.C. to participate in Mars Hill College's road race weekend.

- LMC -