Sheedy leads Bobcats to SECCC title

Sheedy leads Bobcats to SECCC title

MACON, Ga. --- The Lees-McRae College cycling team recorded four individual victories and 11 top-10 finishes at the Southeastern Collegiate Cycling Conference Championships, hosted by Mercer College, to earn its second straight SECCC road title.

Brian Sheedy (Rockford, Mich.) set the tone for the Bobcats on Saturday, breaking free of the pack early in the men's "A" criterium and riding clear of the field for the final 45 minutes of the race en route to victory. Rodrigo Gomez (Cancun, Mexico) finished second in the race, while Jason Marshall (Stanley, N.C.) and Wesley Rhoads (Huntington, W.Va.) took the top two spots, respectively, in the men's "B" criterium. Rachel Warner (Luray, Va.) stole the show in the women's "A" criterium, finishing first ahead of teammate Cinthia Lehner (Greer, S.C.), who placed second.

Zac Felpel (Willow St., Pa.) and Peter Haile (Fort Collins, Colo.) followed with gutsy performances in the men's "A" road race on Sunday, making the lead break and both finishing in the top 10. Rhoads followed his second-place showing in Saturday's "B" criterium by finishing third in the men's "B" road race on Sunday. Warner and Lehner then finished first and third, respectively, in the women's "A" road race to wrap up the title for Lees-McRae.

Lees-McRae returns to action on May 6-8 when the Bobcats travel to Madison, Wis. for the Collegiate Road Nationals in a bid for the program's second national title in the road discipline.

- LMC -