LMC set to host SECCC Cyclocross Championships

BANNER ELK, N.C. --- The Lees-McRae College cycling team is set to host the 2011 Southeastern Collegiate Cycling Conference Cyclocross Championships this Sunday, looking to defend its 2010 title.

The championships kick off on Sunday morning at 9 a.m. with the men's "C" race, followed by the men's "B" competition at 9:45 a.m. The women's "A/B" race is slated to start at 10:45 a.m., followed by the men's "A" competition at 11:45 a.m.

The Bobcats enjoyed a tremendous cyclocross season last fall, capturing both the conference and national team omnium titles en route to the program's 10th national championship in school history. Lees-McRae has won four of the last five cyclocross national titles, including three straight championships from 2006-2008.

For more information on Sunday's championships, please click here for the event flyer.

- LMC -