Bobcats pace weekend at SECCC Cyclocross Championships

Bobcats pace weekend at SECCC Cyclocross Championships

BANNER ELK, N.C. --- The Lees-McRae College cycling team took the top four spots in all but one race on Sunday, pacing the field at the 2011 Southeastern Collegiate Cycling Conference Cyclocross Championships on the LMC campus.

Matt Zimmer (DeWitt, Iowa) kicked off the day for the Bobcats with an individual win in the men's "B" race, as Carter Luck (Banridge, Pa.), Michael Nichols, Adam Downs (Eaton, Ohio), Kevin Burgess (Charlotte, N.C.), and Chris Esposito (Gorham, Maine) took the next five spots for Lees-McRae.

Katherine Shields (Salisbury, N.C.) took the top spot in the women's "A" race, beating out her sister Emily Shields (Salisbury, N.C.), Erica Zaveta (Erwinna, Pa.), and Megan Baab. Mackenzie Filippi (Cary, N.C.) also finished seventh.

Bradford Perley (Kennebunkport, Maine) won the men's "A" race, as Joseph Welsh (Cordova, Tenn.) and Sondre Thorbergsen (Tranoy, Norway) finished second and fourth, respectively. Nathan Larson (Erie, Pa.) also placed sixth for the Bobcats.

Lees-McRae returns to action on January 4, 2012 when the Bobcats travel to Madison, Wis. to participate in the 2012 USA Cycling Collegiate Cyclocross National Championships.

- LMC -