LMC Cycling crowns a pair of National Champions at MTB Nationals

LMC Cycling crowns a pair of National Champions at MTB Nationals

SNOWSHOE, W. Va. – The Lees-McRae College cycling programs have had a couple stellar last few weeks. The Bobcats started the stretch with winning the overall SECCC conference championship for Varsity. LMC narrowly edged out Union College for that honor. Following that championship, the Bobcats had a pair of National Champions crowned in MTB Nationals in Phil Kmetz (Downhill) and Veronica Laughton (Dual Slalom).

"Our team performed very well under adverse conditions, especially during the snow and cold temps on day two," said LMC Head Coach Tim Hall.  "We are thrilled for Phil and Veronica and their performances in the gravity events.  Phil continued his string of downhill victories, and Veronica was incredible, especially considering she's only a freshman.  Emma, Simona, and Jack also stood out with some good performances.  We brought more freshmen than ever before to this championship, so to end up fourth overall is a big accomplishment."

For Kmetz it marked his fourth jersey he has won at LMC and three consecutive in the downhill. Laughton, meanwhile, earned her first career jersey with the victory in dual slalom. With the pair of champions, that brings the program's total to 57 individual national champions.

Here are some of the other top performances for the Bobcats in the three-day event.

2nd place - - Phil Kmetz in Dual Slalom
3rd place - - Veronica Laughton in Downhill
5th place - - Simona Croccolo in Downhill
7th place - - Emma Klingaman in Short Track
2nd place - - Veronica Laughton in Individual Omnium

9th place - - Emma Klingaman in Individual Omnium
6th place - - Jack Perry in Individual Omnium
10th place - - Evan Christenson in Individual Omnium

                                                                                                                                                                                      The Bobcats will return to action Nov. 19 with a competition at Furman.