12 Bobcats named USA Cycling Academic All-Stars

12 Bobcats named USA Cycling Academic All-Stars

BANNER ELK, N.C. – 12 members of the Lees-McRae College cycling teams were named to USA Cycling's 2016 Academic All-Stars the organization announced recently. The honorees were separated into three disciplines: Track, Mountain and Cyclo-cross. Two Bobcats, Samuel Dobrozsi and Jack Perry, were named in both the Mountain and Cyclo-cross groups. A complete list of the LMC athletes that were honored are listed below.

Connor Simmons – Track

Evan Christenson – Mountain

Samantha Croft – Mountain

Samuel Dobrozsi – Mountain, Cyclo-cross

Stacey Hyslop – Mountain

Jake Kahn – Mountain

Emma Klingaman – Mountain

Jack Perry – Mountain, Cyclo-cross

Quinn Reeves – Mountain

Will Hardin – Cyclo-cross

Alec Hoover – Cyclo-cross

Ashlyn Woods – Cyclo-cross

In order to achieve Academic All-Star status, athletes must have attended a USA Collegiate Cycling National Championship in the specified term for that honor and have maintained a 3.5 or higher GPA for the semester or term during which the national championship event falls (or the preceding term in the case of cyclocross). The names of these athletes will be published by USA Cycling in January and June of each year.

The Bobcats will open their road season this Sunday when it takes part in the Hincapie Series in Greenville, S.C.

For more information of Lees-McRae Athletics, follow us on our social media sites on Twitter (@LMCBobcats), Facebook (Lees-McRae Athletics) and on Instagram (leesmcraeathletics)