Cycling heads to California for Mountain Bike National Championships

Cycling heads to California for Mountain Bike National Championships

BANNER ELK, N.C. – The Lees-McRae College cycling programs will be making the long trek to California this weekend to compete in the USA Cycling Collegiate Mountain Bike National Championships. The Championships will take place Friday through Sunday in Big Bear Lake, California.

Lees-McRae is coming off its 13th straight Southeastern College Cycling Conference (SECCC) Varsity Championship two weeks ago at Lindsey Wilson College. LMC not only topped the team omnium standings at the end of the events but it also had both individual champions in Maria Doering and David Kahn. Furthermore, Veronica Laughton (2nd) along with Andrew Sparks (2nd) and Max Beaupre (3rd) all finished the season in the top three in the league standings.

Looking forward to this weekend's action, the Bobcats will look to improve upon their fifth place finish in at Mountain Bike Championships a season ago. Historically, Lees-McRae has won three National Championships in the mountain bike discipline with the last occurring in 2005.

Friday's action will begin with the cross country races followed by dual slalom qualifying to wrap up the day. On Saturday, the Bobcats will compete in the downhill qualifying races followed by the short track contests. Closing out the Championships on Sunday will be the downhill races and the team relay race. For the full schedule of the weekend click HERE.

Overall, the Bobcats will bring 18 cyclists to California to compete in the variety of events (11 men, seven women). Lees-McRae's list of competing student-athletes and events can be found below.

Brendan Bengtson (XC, STXC, Relay)

Michael Fuerst (DH, DS)

Jake Kahn (DH, DS)

David Kahn (STXC, DH, DS)

Anthony Khare (DH, DS)

James Kreuzburg (XC, STXC)

Nicholas Sdrenka (XC, STXC)

Andrew Sparks (XC, STXC, Relay)

Max Beaupre (DH, DS)

Sean Kelly (DH, DS)

Liam Flanagan (XC, STXC)

Marla Cline (STXC, DH, DS)

Veronica Laughton (DH, DS)

Svetlana Mack (DH, DS)

Erin Sferrazza (XC, STXC)

Madysen Rails (XC, STXC, Relay)

Riley Gallagher (XC, STXC)

Maria Doering (XC, STXC, DH, DS, Relay)


For more information on Lees-McRae Athletics, follow us on our social media sites on Twitter (@LMCBobcats), Facebook (Lees-McRae Athletics) and on Instagram (leesmcraeathletics).