Men's Lacrosse

Men’s Lacrosse claims Messick Sportsmanship award; Molander named Scholar Athlete of the Year

Men’s Lacrosse claims Messick Sportsmanship award; Molander named Scholar Athlete of the Year

Photo Courtesy of Jacob Turner

HIGH POINT, N.C. – The Lees-McRae College men's lacrosse program received a pair of awards from the Conference Carolinas office on Friday afternoon. First, the program was the recipient of Messick award, which is given to the team exhibited the highest degree of sportsmanship by its players, coaches and fans during the regular season. On top of this honor, junior attackman Alec Molander was named the Conference Carolinas Men's Lacrosse Scholar Athlete of the Year.

The Messick Sportsmanship Awards are determined by a vote from a student-athlete and a coach from all conference competitors based upon sportsmanship. Each institution then submits those votes to the conference office, where averages are calculated to decide the winner for each conference-sponsored sport. The rankings of each school's conference-sponsored sports are then used to determine the institution which has displayed the best sportsmanship across all sports throughout the year, and that institution is named the winner of the Messick Sportsmanship Award.  

Molander, who is an English major with a 3.96 grade point average at LMC, was a critical part of LMC's successes on the field this spring.  He scored at least one goal in all nine of the team's games.  Overall, he led the Bobcats in goals (30), assists (13), points (43), and shots on goal (46) in 2018.  Additionally, Molander etched his name in the program's record book by becoming the all-time leading scorer after a 10-point outing in early April. For his efforts, Molander was named to the All-Conference Carolinas Second Team following the conclusion of the regular season. 

Candidates are submitted by member institutions for each of the conference's twenty sponsored sports. To be considered for the honor, the student-athlete must have been named Academic All-Conference, which entails having attended their member institution for at least one full year and having reached junior or senior standing with a cumulative GPA of 3.25 or higher on a 4-point scale. Scholar Athletes of the Year must also be represented on their sport's First, Second, or Third All-Conference Team, the rosters of which are chosen by coaches at the end of each playing season.

For more information of Lees-McRae Athletics, follow us on our social media sites on Twitter (@LMCBobcats), Facebook (Lees-McRae Athletics) and on Instagram (leesmcraeathletics)