Squires headlines Bobcat all-Conference Carolinas Selections

Squires headlines Bobcat all-Conference Carolinas Selections

HIGH POINT, N.C. --- Senior forward Lee Squires (Sheffield, U.K.) has been named the Conference Carolinas Player of the Year for the second time in his career, leading a group of seven players from the Lees-McRae College men's soccer team on the 2010 all-Conference Carolinas team, announced league officials Thursday.

Squires, David Palmer (Gateshead, U.K.), Luke Perry (Cheshire, U.K.), and Luke Duffy (Wakefield, U.K.) were each named to the first team, as Palmer and Duffy garnered all-conference recognition for the third straight season. Squires and Perry each earned all-conference honors for the second time in their careers; James Galvani (High Wycombe, U.K.), Luke Staats (Almere, Holland), and Sam Kennedy (The East End, London, U.K.) each garned second team recognition.

Squires has been an offensive force for the Bobcats once again this season, leading the conference with 13 goals and 31 points, marks which also place him among the leaders in the NCAA Division II Southeast Region. The two-time All-American and Conference Carolinas Player of the Year garnered first team recognition for the second time in his career, heading into the semifinal round of the conference tournament ranked third in the league with six assists. Squires is a two-time all-Southeast Region first team selection, and has led the Bobcats to four straight conference titles.

Palmer is in the midst of perhaps his finest season with Lees-McRae, tying a career-high with 22 points while posting a new personal best with nine goals to earn first team honors for the second time. The three-time all-conference selection has tallied at least five goals and 15 points in each of his first three seasons, totaling 24 goals, 12 assists, and 60 points in 61 matches as a Bobcat. Palmer garnered NSCAA/adidas NCAA Division II all-Southeast Region third team recognition last season.

Perry, the 2009 Conference Carolinas Freshman of the Year, has been tremendous down the stretch for the Bobcats, tallying seven assists in his last five matches en route to his first career all-conference first team selection. The two-time all-conference honoree currently leads the conference and the region with nine assists, and is tied for 10th in the league with 14 points.

Duffy has been a tremendous part of the Bobcats' success over the past three seasons, providing veteran leadership to a backline that has allowed more than one goal on just 11 occasions over that span, a stretch that includes 24 shutouts. The 2009 Daktronics NCAA Division II All-America selection recently posted a personal highlight, scoring his first career goal against St. Andrews. Duffy is a three-time all-conference selection.

Galvani has been a pleasant surprise for the Bobcats in his freshman season, scoring nine goals, dishing out six assists, and totaling 24 points in his rookie campaign. Galvani has been an integral part to the Bobcat success this season, tallying four game clinching scores to lead the team in that category.

Staats, like Duffy, has been a key ingredient in the defensive success in his time at Lees-McRae. The junior defender has also seen spurts this season in which he has sparked the Bobcat attack, maneuvering his way to five shots, four of those on frame, while tallying one assist.

Kennedy is wrapping up a fine collegiate career between Herkimer County Community College and Lees-McRae. Kennedy has tallied two goals and three assists in two seasons with the Bobcats, posting five points and serving as captain during the 2010 campaign. During his collegiate career, Kennedy has taken part in two National Championship contests, winning the 2008 NJCAA National Championship at Herkimer, while garnering Mid State Conference Player of the Year honors.

The top-seeded Bobcats return to the pitch on Friday when they host fifth-seeded Pfeiffer University in the semifinal round of the conference tournament. Kickoff is slated for 7 p.m. at Tate Field.
- LMC -

2010 Conference Carolinas Men's Soccer All-Conference Team
Forward - Lee Squires, Lees-McRae
Forward - David Palmer, Lees-McRae
Forward - Matt Sluga, Erskine
Forward - Jack Bailey, Limestone
Midfielder - Keegan Ziada, Limestone
Midfielder - Luke Perry, Lees-McRae
Midfielder - Erik Pajunk, Barton
Defender - Alex Connally, Erskine
Defender - Luke Duffy, Lees-McRae
Defneder - Aaron Weldon, Belmont Abbey
Goalkeeper - Roberto De La Vina, Erskine

Forward - Junior Ellis, Limestone
Forward - Matt Dolan, Belmont Abbey
Forward - James Galvani, Lees-McRae
Midfielder - Jack Kimber, Erskine
Midfielder - Lee Smyth, Limestone
Midfielder - Rommel Fondin, Coker
Defender - Luke Staats, Lees-McRae
Defender - Marc Mergena, Coker
Defender - Sam Kennedy, Lees-McRae
Defender - Mike Stephenson, Limestone
Goalkeeper - Alex Moreno, Pfeiffer

Forward - Daniel Shirzad, Coker
Forward - Jeremy Chambers, Queens
Forward - Jose Penaloza, Belmont Abbey
Midfielder - Stuart Kirk, Belmont Abbey
Midfielder - Gersi Cilingiri, Queens
Midfielder - Gianluca D'Agata, Belmont Abbey
Midfielder - Tom Morris, Limestone
Defender - Luke Vernon, Pfeiffer
Defender - Justin Ferguson, Queens
Defender - Jonathan Rutter, Erskine
Goalkeeper - Louis Liberatore, Belmont Abbey

FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR - Erik Pajunk, Barton

PLAYER OF THE YEAR - Lee Squires, Lees-McRae

COACH OF THE YEAR - Warren Turner, Erskine