Squires and Duffy pace five Bobcats on Daktronics All-Southeast Region teams

Squires and Duffy pace five Bobcats on Daktronics All-Southeast Region teams

BANNER ELK, N.C. --- Lees-McRae College senior forward Lee Squires (Sheffield, England) and junior defender Luke Duffy (Wakefield, England) headline a group of five Bobcats on the 2010 Daktronics NCAA Division II All-Southeast Region Men's Soccer teams, announced region officials Tuesday.

Squires and Duffy each garnered first team recognition for the second time in their careers, while junior David Palmer (Gateshead, England), and freshmen Justin Jones (Jamestown, N.C.) and Thomas Rusling (Sheffield, England) each earned a spot on the second team. The Bobcats tied Clayton State University for the region-lead with five selections between the two all-region teams.

Duffy has been a tremendous part of the Bobcats' success this season, providing leadership and a calming presence on a backline which has allowing two or more goals on three occasions this fall. The 2009 Daktronics NCAA Division II All-America selection also played an integral role in six shutouts this season, leading the Bobcats to their fourth straight Conference Carolinas regular season championship. Duffy is a three-time all-Conference Carolinas selection.

Squires has returned to form this season, scoring a region- and Conference Carolinas-best 14 goals while tallying seven assists and 35 points to garner his second career conference player of the year honors. The 2008 Daktronics NCAA Division II All-America Second Team selection has led the Bobcats to four straight conference titles and three conference tournament crowns. A native of Sheffield, England, Squires posted a trio of multi-goal matches this season, including one hat trick.

Palmer is in the midst of perhaps his finest season with Lees-McRae, tying a career-high with 22 points while posting a new personal best with nine goals to earn all-Conference Carolinas First Team honors for the second time. The 2009 NSCAA/adidas NCAA Division II all-Southeast Region third team selection has posted several impressive performances this season, including a brace against Queens in the opening round of the Conference Carolinas Tournament.

Jones has stepped into a pivotal role for the Bobcats this season, ranking among the nation's top 10 playmakers for much of the campaign. A native of Jamestown, N.C., Jones has dished out seven assists thus far, including a trio of two-helper performances against Tusculum, Belmont Abbey, and Queens. The 5-7, 160-pound defender was ranked among the top 10 players in the nation in assists for the first six weeks of the season, entering last week listed 35th in helpers.

Rusling has come on strong over the last month of the season, putting the Bobcats on his back and carrying them to the program's third Conference Carolinas Tournament title with a trio of shutouts, including a career performance against Pfeiffer in the semifinal round. The Sheffield, England native has tallied four shutouts and a 0.88 goals against average this season, while allowing just one goal over the past four matches. Rusling was named to the Conference Carolinas Tournament MVP.

Lees-McRae is expected to return 16 lettermen for their Conference Carolinas Tournament Championship squad, including all-Conference Carolinas First Team selections Luke Perry (Cheshire, England), Palmer, and Duffy. The Bobcats posted their fourth straight NCAA Tournament appearance this season, while capturing the program's fourth consecutive Conference Carolinas regular season title.

- LMC -

2010 Daktronics NCAA Division II All-Southeast Region Men's Soccer Teams

First Team

Pos. Name Yr. School
F Nathaniel Foster Sr. University of Montevallo
F Ryan Pugh Jr. Clayton State University
F Lee Squires Sr. Lees-McRae College
F Jamie McKenna Sr. Wingate University
M Lasse Sohrweide * Jr. Anderson University (S.C.)
M Luke Mulholland * Sr. Wingate University
M Craig Hughes Sr. Lander University
M Milan Pualic Sr. University of Montevallo
D Luke Duffy * Jr. Lees-McRae College
D Lucas Pereira Sr. Lincoln Memorial University
D Austin McIntosh Sr. University of Montevallo
D Igor Lukic Sr. Clayton State University
GK Matt Gilman Sr. Flagler College

Region Player of the Year: Lasse Sohrweide, Anderson University (S.C.)

Second Team

Pos. Name Yr. School
F Richard Osterloh Fr. Mars Hill College
F Robert Hill Jr. Carson-Newman College
F Arturo Cruz Fr. Clayton State University
F Tom Winspear Jr. King College (Tenn.)
M Adrien Moufflet Sr. Anderson University (S.C.)
M Matty Phillips Jr. Clayton State University
M David Palmer Jr. Lees-McRae College
M Aaron McKenna Sr. Lincoln Memorial University
D Gui Andrade Fr. Wingate University
D Matthew Findlay * Sr. Carson-Newman College
D Zach Denson Sr. Anderson University (S.C.)
D Justin Jones Fr. Lees-McRae College
GK Brian Garcia Jr. Clayton State University
GK Thomas Rusling Fr. Lees-McRae College
GK Joey Calandra Sr. Wingate University

*-indicates a member of the 2009 Daktronics All-Southeast Region Team