2009 Regular Season Champs: Bobcats Down Pfeiffer 7-2 to Clinch Title

BANNER ELK, N.C. - The Lees-McRae College Bobcats men's tennis team clinched their first Conference Carolinas regular season title and their first undefeated conference record since 2001 with a 7-2 win over the Pfeiffer University Falcons Wednesday afternoon.

The Bobcats took two of the three singles matches and went on to win five of the six singles matches to earn the win.

Recently ranked No. 18 Nandor Solymosi continued his tear with a 6-2, 6-2 win at his number one singles position for the Bobcats. Solymosi ended the conference season with a 7-1 record.

1. No. #18 Nandor Solymosi (LMC) def. Philip Lawson (PU), 6-2,6-2
2. Alek Mojski (LMC) def. Sid Kaushik (PU), 6-1,6-4
3. Johan de Wit (PU) def. Shaun Sumner (LMC) Injury Forfeit
4. Travis Vanhoy (LMC) def. AJ Flores (PU), 7-6(4), 6-3
5. Tyler Grove (LMC) def. Frank Pouchet (PU), 6-3, 6-4
6. Steve Karendal (LMC) def. Cody Simpson (PU), 6-3,6-0

1. Johan de Wit/Philip Lawson (PU) def. Nandor Solymosi/Steve Karendal (LMC), 8-5
2. Shaun Sumner/Travis Vanhoy (LMC) def. AJ Flores/Sid Kaushik (PU), 8-1
3. Alek Mojski/Tyler Grove (LMC) def. Frank Pouchet/Cody Simpson (PU), 8-3

Pictured: Nandor Solymosi