Men's Track & Field

Lees-McRae Repeats as Conference Carolinas Champions and Swept Track, Field and Coach of the Year Awards

Box score

BANNER ELK, N.C. - The Lees-McRae College swept the awards at the 2010 Conference Carolinas Men's Track and Field Championship with Joe Daher winning Field Athlete of the Year, Chris Glenn repeating as the Track Athlete of the Year and head coach Ley Fletcher winning Coach of the Year at the Arthur, Laurentsen and Sanders Track and Field Complex on the campus of Lees-McRae College.

Glenn, who won the 2009 Field Athlete of the Year, defended his title with total points to repeat. Glenn won the 100m dash with a time of 11.11 seconds, finished fourth in the 200m dash with a time of 22.58, won the 110m hurdles with a time of 15.23 and ran the second leg of the 4x100m relay team that finished second.

Daher earned Field Athlete of the Year with 26 total points. Daher finished second in the shot put with a distance of 13.54m, won the hammer throw with a distance 42.24m and finished second in the discus with a distance of 35.46m.

The most exciting race of the day came in the 200m dash when Lees-McRae's Jesse Hoots pulled out the win with a time of 22.06 just a hundredth of a second ahead of Mount Olive's Keonta Coleman. Coleman returned the favor but in a less dramatic fashion in the 400m with a time of 48.67 seconds as he edged out Hoots, who ran a 49.78. Both Hoots and Coleman times were meet records.

Limestone's Kortez Scott took the triple and long jump for the Saints. Scott went 6.95m in the long jump and 14.37 in the triple jump to earn First Team All-Conference in both events and to set new meet records.

Lees-McRae won the team event with 223 total points to win by margin of a hundred and eleven points ahead of second place Limestone, who had 112 points. Mount Olive finished third with 83 points followed by Anderson with 79 points, Queens with 70 points, St. Andrews with 45 points and Belmont Abbey with four points.