Men's Track & Field

Saintine’s record day fuels Bobcats at Conference Carolinas Championships

Saintine’s record day fuels Bobcats at Conference Carolinas Championships
Box score

BANNER ELK, N.C. --- Lees-McRae College sophomore Nazaire Saintine (Douglassville, Ga.) established a pair of program records on Saturday to lead the men's track and field team to a fourth-place performance at the 2012 Conference Carolinas Championships at the Arthur, Laurentsen and Sanders Track and Field Complex.

Mount Olive College took the team title with 173 points, beating out second-place King College's total of 150 markers. Limestone College finished third with 74 points, followed by Lees-McRae (71) and North Greenville University (67). Queens University of Charlotte was sixth with 40 points, followed by Belmont Abbey College (21) and Barton College (18).

Mount Olive head coach Matt Van Lierop was named Coach of the Year, as TJ Wilson was named the Freshman of the Year while sharing Track Athlete of the Year honors with Anthony Mallory of Queens University of Charlotte and Freddie Martino of North Greenville University. Rickey Bell of King College was named the Field Athlete of the Year.

Kevin Dever (Leesburg, N.J.) kicked off the weekend for the Bobcats on Friday, winning the pole vault with a mark of 4.40 meters, as Evan Webb (Salisbury, N.C.) came in second with an identical mark of 4.40 meters. Saintine finished second in the high jump with a mark of 1.93 meters, while Jordan Wilbur (Chesterfield, S.C.) turned in a season-best mark of 35.84 meters in the hammer throw en route to a sixth-place performance.

Saintine set the first of two school records on Saturday in the long jump, finishing third with a mark of 6.97 meters, as Kendall Davis (Douglassville, Ga.) followed closely in fourth with a mark of 6.95 meters. Saintine placed second in the triple jump with a school-record leap of 13.92 meters, besting his own program mark. Eric Cloy (Ball Ground, Ga.) and Davis finished eighth and ninth with marks of 12.84 and 12.80 meters, respectively.

Wilbur and Ryan Trask (Cobleskill, N.Y.) placed ninth and 10th in the discus with season-best throws of 33.89 and 33.21 meters, respectively, while Devan Mackey (Hickory, N.C.) finished fifth in the shot put with a mark of 12.34 meters.

The quartet of Davis, Travis Burton (Newberry, S.C.), Christopher Dye (Gastonia, N.C.), and Josh Oliver (North Wilkesboro, N.C.) placed fourth in the 4x100-meter relay with a time of 43.03 seconds, while Tyler Dunn (Jasper, Ga.) finished third in the 1,500-meter run with a mark of 4:11.24 after making a tremendous charge over the final three laps.

Richard Lane (Concord, N.C.) finished fifth in the 110-meter hurdles with a time of 15.75 seconds, as Bradley King (Hildebran, N.C.) and Brandon Williams (Raleigh, N.C.) placed sixth and seventh, respectively. Burton placed seventh in the 400-meter dash with a time of 51.04 seconds, as Lane finished sixth in the 100-meter dash with a mark of 11.34 seconds.

King placed third in the 400-meter hurdles with a time of 55.46 seconds, before teaming with Dever, Burton, and Saintine to finish fourth in the 4x400-meter relay with a mark of 3.22.13.

Lees-McRae is expected to return 24 athletes from this year's squad, including rising seniors Dever, King, Oliver, Wilbur, and Williams.

- LMC -