Up Close & Personal with Marty Monahan

Banner Elk, NC--Today we get Up Close with sophomore runner Marty Monahan who hails from Tryon, NC. Join us as we continue our series of interviews with the Bobcat runners.

1. What made you decide to come to Lees-McRae? My high school track and field coach handed me a pamphlet for Lees-McRae and told me to apply. So I did, then realized I could continue my track and cross country career there so here I am.

2. What are your personal goals for this season? My goal is to make an impact on the team and improve my time by about four minutes from the first race I had this season and to help get the team to nationals. For track I just want to win conference in the 800 and 1500.

3. What is your favorite part of cross country here at Lees-McRae? I think just seeing and feeling my improvement every day and truly knowing that I am on a team and my teammates are behind me 100% for every race. I know that they will be working just as hard as me in every workout while persuing common goals.

4. Who has been the most influential person on your athletic career? My mother. She got me started in sports at an early age and always encouraged me to do my best (even though I wasn't too good for a while).

5. If you weren't a runner, what other sport would you play? I would play baseball.

6. What is your major and what do you plan to do with your degree? My major is currently undecided but I am thinking that Sports Management is the best idea.

7. If you could travel back in time to any point in history, where would you go? I'd like to see the exact moment in time where man first created fire. I would just like to see them jump up and down and act all crazy and freak out in their primitive but exciting way.

8. What is your favorite band? I don't really have a favorite. I like pretty much all music and like a ton of bands.

9. What is your favorite book? The Gift: A Runner's Story

10. If you could visit any place in the world, where would it be?
I would go to the base of Mt. Everest, then I would hike up.

11. What is one word that describes you and why?
Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious....because.

Marty Monahan's story-

I have a sister (Kate) mother (Debi) and father (Marty) and they are all very important and influential people in my life.

I was born June 7, 1988 on Long Island, New York. I remained in New York for barely over a year before my parents moved me to Green Creek, North Carolina which is a small community in the foothills near Highway 9. I attended K-8 at Polk Central School and managed to make it to high school with out being held back or expelled from school.

In 1999 we moved out of Green Creek over to Columbus (which is only about 10 miles away) where strangely enough we have the Tryon zip coded of 28782. I began my reign at Polk County High School in the fall of 2002 as a shy, skinny and generally unathletic freshman, but started to fill out and become a little more outgoing towards my sophomore year. By the time my junior year rolled around I had become accustomed to people saying that I was crazy (in a good way....not clinically insane) and that I was out of mind and stuff like that. So pretty much I stopped being shy and learned how to be outgoing, but sometimes overly so. On June 9, 2006 I graduated from Polk County High School completely different from the way I came in and ready to pursue the future.

A big part of my story is my participation in track and field and cross country. It all started in the late fall of 2003 when my friend Andrew told me that I should come run indoor track with him. I agreed under the conditions that I would use it to get in shape for the upcoming spring baseball season that I was looking forward to. My first day of practice I did a 2 mile loop around the school and after about a mile and a half I had to stop and puke. The upcoming weeks brought much improvement and before long I had worked my way up to doing 3-5 miles per day. The end of indoor track rolled around and I decided not to compete in baseball because of the baseball coach and in part because of all the fun I had running and meeting all the people I had met. I then competed in cross country which I started running the 5k race at 23 minutes, then dropped my time to around 19 minutes by my senior year. I improved my 800 meter time from around 3 minutes during my first year of indoor track (Yes, you can run that slow.) to a 2:06 my senior year. I also made All-State in polevault my senior year. I was also able to help set school records in the 4x800 an 4x400 meter relays. Now track/xc is what I live by.