Up Close & Personal with Uriel Alberto

Banner Elk. NC--Today we meet up with a sophomore member of the cross country team, Uriel Alberto. Uriel comes to the mountains from nearby Winston-Salem, NC.

1. What made you decide to come to Lees-McRae? I had taken a year off from school after high school and wanted to go back to school and start running. I decided to send some e-mails and see if any coach would give me a second chance. Lucky for me I only needed to send one because Coach Mac responded the same day and I ended up here.

2. What are your personal goals for this season? I want to contribute in any way possible to the success of the team.

3. What's your favorite Bobcat memory here at Lees-McRae so far? I'd say last year's trip to Charleston, SC. We really bonded as a team.

4. What is your favorite part of cross country here at Lees-McRae? My favorite part is the family atmosphere that surrounds the team.

5. Who has been the most influential person on your athletic career? My mom, she has pushed me to work hard and has never let me give up.

6. If you weren't a runner, what other sport would you play? I'd say soccer because I've played that most of my life.

7. What is your major and what do you plan to do with your degree? I am undecided so far.

8. If you could travel back in time to any point in history, where would you go? I'd go back to the Wild West. It seems like I would have a blast.

9. What is your favorite band? Lil Wayne; I know he's not a band, but he is my favorite artist.

10. What is your favorite book? Running With the Buffaloes

11. If you could visit any place in the world, where would it be? I'd like to go to Brazil. It has some lovely beaches.

12. What is one word that describes you and why? Dreamer; I was always told that there is nothing wrong in dreaming if you go out there and try to make them come true.


Uriel's Story… . I was born in Mexico, but moved to the U.S when I was six. I lived in Baldwin Park, CA for two years and then moved to Winston-Salem, NC where I have lived ever since. I have three younger sisters, Alma, Ana, Cristina, and a younger brother, David.

I played soccer most of my life, but decided to pick up running during the spring of my freshman year. After about eight practices I ran a mile in 5:27. I was told it was pretty good, but I didn't know any better and almost never showed up for track practice. I kept the same cycle until my junior year of track when I noticed that even after little dedication my times kept getting faster. I didn't run cross country because it was during the same season as soccer. Finally my senior year I ran cross country, indoor and outdoor track and qualified for the state championship all three times. I originally signed to run at ECU, but decided that it would not be a good fit for me, and now I'm a BOBCAT!!!