Women's Tennis

Vanard Named Freshman of the Year; Mayers Honorable Mention

Thomasville, N.C.--The Lees-McRae women's tennis team earned three All-Conference Carolinas awards, including Freshman of the Year, as announced by Conference Carolinas at the league tennis team banquet. The banquet kicked off the weekend's Conference Carolinas Championship Tennis Tournament co-hosted by Erskine College and the Sumter Palmetto Tennis Complex in Sumter, S.C.

Head coaches from conference member institutions nominate and then vote upon the award winners who represent the best of the best for Conference Carolinas in 2008. The Lady Bobcats, who finished sixth in regular season conference play this year with a 5-5 league record, continue to improve under Head Coach Paul Goode, the reigning North Carolina State Adult Male Tennis Player of the Year. Newcomer Christine Vanard of Winston-Salem, N.C. was awarded the Freshman of the Year and All-Conference First Team awards while teammate Ashley Mayers (Miami, Fla.) received Honorable Mention honors for her efforts on the courts.

Freshman of the Year, Christine Vanard, who played No. 1 singles for the Lady Bobcats this year, went 15-4 this spring and ended the regular season with a five match winning streak. Other accomplishments for the rookie include a midseason, eight match winning streak, her selection as Conference Carolinas Player of the Week for week six and a win over Division I Appalachian State opponent, Monica Thomas. The freshman finished 7-2 in conference play, falling only to Conference Carolinas' Player of the Year Jennifer Gennaoui of Erskine College and to Margarita Aheychencko of Anderson University, another All-Conference First Team member. Throughout the season, Vanard's hard work ethic has paid off as she has played a vital role in the Lady Bobcats' success on the court.

Sophomore Ashley Mayers was selected as All-Conference Honorable Mention. Mayers, who played No. 3 for the Lady Bobcats for most of the season (with occasional matches at the two), finished 12-6 for the spring and 7-2 in league play with her only conference losses coming at the hands of Second Team All-Conference Players Eve Aubry (Erskine College) and Carol Aro ( Mt. Olive College). Her six game winning stretch earned her the Conference Carolinas Player of the Week award for week.

2008 Conference Carolinas Women's Tennis Award Winners

Player of the Year:
Jennifer Gennaoui, Erskine

Freshman of the Year:
Christine Vanard, Lees-McRae

Coach of the Year:
Calhoun Parr, Erskine

All-Conference First Team:
Jennifer Gennaoui, Erskine
Britton Bignon, Erskine
Alexandra Gade, Limestone
Christine Vanard, Lees-McRae
Patty Dominguez, Pfeiffer
Margarita Aheychenko, Anderson

All-Conference Second Team:
Carol Aro, Mount Olive
Jennifer Snaider, Limestone
Mary Clair-Rollins, Erskine
Eve Aubry, Limestone
Kacie Knox, Erskine
Merissa Rock, Queens

Honorable Mention:
Chelsea Hsieh, Barton
Rachel Lemar, Coker
Jessica McDonald, Anderson
Sofia Medeiros, Mount Olive
Ashley Mayers, Lees-McRae

Pictured Top: Christine Vanard

Pictured Bottom: Ashley Mayers