Women's Volleyball

Three Lady Bobcats Named All Conference

THOMASVILLE, NC - Conference Carolinas announced the 2007 award winners at their annual Volleyball Honors Banquet that was hosted by Anderson University on Saturday morning. Awards include All-Conference First, Second, and Honorable Mention teams, Player of the Year, Coach of the Year, Freshman of the Year, & Regular Season Champions. Head coaches from conference member institutions nominate and then vote on the award winners who represent the best of the best for the league.

The Volleyball Honors Banquet Brunch was held in conjunction with the Conference Championship semifinals and finals that is also being hosted by Anderson University. Tournament competition began Monday and Wednesday with first and second round games being played at the higher seeded home courts. Semifinal matches took place yesterday afternoon with the championship final concluding today.

A trio of Lady Bobcats were named to the All Conference Carolinas team, with senior Daviana Metti (Cordoba, Argentina) leading the way with First Team honors. Freshman Kell Bogdan (Leawood, KS) was named to the Second Team while sophomore Lauren Dickover (Las Vegas, NV) was named Honorable Mention.

The Lady Bobcats took home the Regular Season Championship and will go for their tenth straight Conference Carolinas Tournament Championship Saturday afternoon against Limestone.

All-Conference 1st-Team
Sam Mitchell Mount Olive
Margaret Madison Coker
Daviana Metti Lees-McRae
Melissa Thomas Limestone
Amanda Edwards Anderson
Kelsey Carlson Coker
Morgan Liebert Pfeiffer

All-Conference 2nd-Team
Racey Bartley Mount Olive
Megan Haupt Coker
Lauren Spiotta Pfeiffer
Lindsey Stansbury St. Andrews
Leanna Willis Anderson
Kell Bogdan Lees-McRae
Lindsay Doggett Anderson

All-Conference Honorable Mention
Brittany Dickens Pfeiffer
Beth Lawson Anderson
Galina Podolsky St. Andrews
Monica Halligan Belmont Abbey
Lauren Dickover Lees-McRae

Freshman of the Year
Emily Frohnapfel Belmont Abbey College

Player of the Year
Sam Mitchell Mount Olive College

Coach of the Year
Chuck Mullen Coker College

Regular Season Champions
Lees-McRae College