Women's Volleyball

Lady Bobcats Earn Conference Carolinas Honors; Epperson Named Freshman of the Year

BANNER ELK, N.C. - The Lees-McRae women's volleyball team had three players recognized for their efforts on the court this year as announced by Conference Carolinas at the annual Volleyball Honors Banquet that was hosted by Lees-McRae College on Friday evening in conjunction with the 2008 Conference Championship semifinals and finals. The Lady Bobcats had Megan Epperson named Freshman of the Year, Whitney Kiser to the All-Conference Second Team, and Kell Bogdan earned All-Conference Honorable Mention.

Awards for All-Conference First, Second, and Honorable Mention teams, Player of the Year, Coach of the Year, Freshman of the Year and Regular Season Champions were all announced at the banquet. Head coaches from conference member institutions nominate and then vote on the award winners who represent the best of the best for the league.

Megan Epperson (St. John, Ind.) was named conference Freshman of the Year with 170 kills in 72 matches for an average of 2.34 kills per set to lead the Lady Bobcat attack. She recorded 211 digs, 59 total blocks and 22 service aces.

Sophomore Whitney Kiser (Connelly Springs, N.C.) earned Second Team honors with 170 kills in 74 games for an average of 2.30 kills per set. Kiser finished the year sixth in hitting percentage with a .267. She also compiled 64 total blocks and 38 service aces (.47 per game) good enough for fifth in the conference.

Another sophomore Kell Bogdan (Leawood, Kan.), the conference leader in digs with 323 digs in 64 games for an average of 4.89 digs per set, earned All-Conference Honorable Mention honors. She also had 23 service aces.

All-Conference 1st-Team
Melissa Thomas Limestone College
Amanda Edwards Anderson University
Racey Bartley Mount Olive College
Brittany Dickens Pfeiffer University
Petra Ljubicic Pfeiffer University
Mallory Peavler Mount Olive College
Morgan Liebert Pfeiffer University

All-Conference 2nd-Team
Galina Podolsky St. Andrews Presbyterian College
Alicia Mote Mount Olive College
Lauren Spiotta Pfeiffer University
Whitney Kiser Lees-McRae
Ashley Prince Anderson University
Adria Mullaney Anderson University
Lindsay Doggett Anderson University

All-Conference Honorable Mention
Mel Ritter Barton College
Samantha Flannery Limestone College
Emily Frohnapfel Belmont Abbey College
Kell Bogdan Lees-McRae College
Joanie Werling Mount Olive College

Freshman of the Year
Megan Epperson Lees-McRae College

Player of the Year
Melissa Thomas Limestone College

Coach of the Year
Ben Guiliano Pfeiffer University

Regular Season Champions
Pfeiffer University