Women's Volleyball

Clendenin earns Daktronics all-Southeast Region honors

Clendenin earns Daktronics all-Southeast Region honors

SAVANNAH, Ga. --- Lees-McRae College junior Taylor Clendenin (Statesville, N.C.) has been named to the 2011 Daktronics NCAA Division II Women's Volleyball all-Southeast Region team for the first time in her career, announced region officials Wednesday.

Clendenin becomes the third Daktronics all-region selection in program history, joining former Daktronics All-American and two-time all-region honoree Whitney Justice. A native of Statesville, N.C., Clendenin earned a spot on the second team after posting perhaps her best season with the Bobcats, establishing career-highs in kills (389), kills per set (3.11), hitting percentage (.250), service aces (53), points (471), and markers per frame (3.77).

The all-Conference Carolinas First team selection has played perhaps her best volleyball of the season against regionally ranked opponents, averaging 3.39 kills per set while attacking at a .275 clip in six matches against Wingate University, Tusculum College, Armstrong Atlantic State University, Flagler College, and University of South Carolina at Aiken. Clendenin posted two of her strongest performances of the season against Wingate and Armstrong Atlantic, notching 11 and 15 kills, respectively, while notching a hitting percentage of at least .300 in each contest.

Lees-McRae will return to the court on Friday when the eighth-seeded Bobcats square off against top-seeded Wingate University in the first round of the NCAA Division II Southeast Region Championship at 7:30 p.m. in Wingate, N.C.

- LMC -

2011 Daktronics NCAA Division II Women's Volleyball all-Southeast Region Teams

First Team

Pos. Name Yr. School
RS Anna Hilton So. Wingate
OH Dianne Craine Jr. Flagler
RS Brendyce Budd Sr. Armstrong Atlantic
MH Brittany Wolf Jr. Armstrong Atlantic
MH Crystal Neiderriter Jr. Flagler
S Liz Willis # Sr. Wingate
L/DS Caitlyn Dean * So. Tusculum

2011 Southeast Region Player of the Year: Liz Willis, Wingate

Second Team

Pos. Name Yr. School
OH Cory McGowan So. Wingate
OH Jessica Santaniello So. Armstrong Atlantic
OH Taylor Clendenin Jr. Lees-McRae
MH Nikki James Sr. Carson-Newman
MH Blaire Fowler Jr. Lincoln Memorial
MH Manyi Ati So. Montevallo
S Olivia Snipes Sr. Flagler
L/DS Casey Gnann Jr. Flagler

* - 2010 Daktronics all-Southeast Region First Team
# - 2009 Daktronics all-Southeast Region Second Team